Skip to the main content

This week, we teamed up with UCL for the first ever joint Education Awards, recognising the winners of the Academic Rep of the Year Awards, our Student Choice Awards, and UCL’s Education Awards

The awards are held to highlight the incredible contribution which students and staff make to changing and improving education at UCL. Your nominations for these awards help us to recognise examples of amazing practice, which we can share with students and staff to make education better. We’ve also used the content of your nominations from the Student Choice Awards to put together a report for UCL on what makes a great education experience and what you value the most. 

Academic Rep Award Winners

Winners Winners of the Academic Rep of the Year Awards - a winner was selected from each faculty.
  • Overall winner: Birgit Pimpel, Research Student Rep, Institute of Child Health, Faculty of Population Health Sciences
  • Faculty of Arts & Humanities: Andrew Mok Yuan Min, Lead Department Rep, Arts & Sciences BASc
  • Bartlett Faculty of the Built Environment: Joanna McLean, Course Rep, Bartlett School of Architecture
  • Faculty of Brain Sciences: Verlina Huang, Course Rep, Psychology and Language Sciences
  • Faculty of Engineering: Evelina Vrabie, Lead Department Rep, School of Management
  • Institute of Education: Melissa Navarro Angeles, Course Rep, Social Sciences
  • Faculty of Life Sciences: Martha Watson, Lead Department Rep, Division of Biosciences
  • Faculty of Mathematical & Physical Sciences: Teja Vaddavalli, Course Rep, Department of Statistical Science
  • Faculty of Medical Sciences: Aayushi Gupta, Lead Department Rep, UCL Medical School
  • Faculty of Social & Historical Sciences: Iida Kayhko, Faculty Rep (PGt), Faculty of Social & Historical Sciences

Find out more about why these students were commended here.

Professor Anthony Smith speaking at The Education Awards

Student Choice Award Winners 

  • Amazing Support Staff: Andrew King - European Social and Political Sciences
  • Active Student Partnership: Evi Katsapi - IOE - Psychology & Human Development
  • Diverse and Inclusive Education: Helga Luthersdottir - SELCS
  • Brilliant Research-Based Education: Brenda Parker - Biochemical Engineering
  • Exceptional Feedback: Alison Hicks - Information Studies
  • Excellent Personal Tutoring: Gabriel Moshenska - Institute of Archaeology
  • Inspiring Teaching Delivery: Yordanka Velkova - SSEES
  • Outstanding Research Supervision: David Scanlon - Chemistry

Find out more about why they were awarded their prizes, here.