An 80,000-word thesis would take 9 hours to present. Their time limit… 3 minutes!

The 3MT competition asks Doctoral candidates to present their research in just three minutes, in language appropriate to non-specialists, and with only one single presentation slide to support them. Can it be done? You’ll have to join us to find out...

How does it work?

Faculty heats took place from February to May 2022. The winner and runner-up from each Faculty Heat progressed to the UCL 3MT® Institutional Final, due to take place on Wednesday 8 2022 at 13:00. 

Our judges this year are: 

Elizabeth Halton, Director of UCL Doctoral School and Early Career Research Staff

Dr Michael Sulu, Senior Teaching Fellow in the Department of Biochemical Engineering and Co-Chair of the Race Equality Steering Group

Laura Cream, Director of Engagement, UCL Culture

Dr Lydia Mapstone, 2021 3MT Winner (Biosciences) & CEO at BoobyBiome

Viktoria Makai, Postgraduate Students Officer at Students' Union UCL

The finalists are:

Javier Bautista, (Brain Sciences), "Is the brain running out of fuel?"

Camilla Boschian (Brain Sciences), "Characterisation of the early response of the human sensory epithelia to gentamicin" 

Kathleen Bryce (Population Health Sciences), "What are the barriers and enablers to hepatitis C treatment in the UK?"

Maria Caluianu (Population Health Sciences), "Getting a Molecular Train Back on its Tracks"

José Luis Hernández-Ramírez (Engineering), "Geographic Intelligence Model on Criminal Groups - A Study for cargo theft on Mexican Highways"

Kavina Shah (Medical Sciences), "Coercing Cellular Co-operation into Conflict: a paradigm shift in treating autoimmune disease"

Christine Madla (Life Sciences), "Sex-Bias in Medicine Action" 

Fiona Verisqa (Medical Sciences), "The best of both worlds: Can we combine 3D printable materials for joint regeneration?"

Have a look at some previous winners


On 17 June 2021, 11 incredible finalists competed. The event's winner was Lydia Mapstone, the runner-up was Emma Mitchell and Suviti Chari took home the People's Choice Award.

We streamed the event on our Facebook page and a recording is available here if you missed the live one!


On 25 June 2018, 9 students competed. The winner of the event was Elizabeth Forsyth, the runner-up was Ione Woollacott and Sarah Slack took home the People’s Choice award.

View Elizabeth’s video here


On 26 June 2017, 13 students competed. The winner of the event was Alexandra Bridarolli with Carlos Ledezma taking home the People’s Choice award.

View Alexandra’s video here


On the Final on 26 June 2016, 16 students competed. The winner of the event was Jonathan Lambert, with Fatumina Abukar taking home the People’s Choice award.

Jonathan was entered into the national UK Three Minute Thesis semi-final and progressed to the national final.

View Jonathan’s video here


On 30 June 2015, 11 students competed. The winner of the event was Jonathan Hannabuss, with Sabina Andron coming second.

Jonathan was entered into the national UK Three Minute Thesis semi-final and progressed to the national final.

Wheelchair accessible


Family friendly